Twitter Pitch Party Coming Soon!

Introducing a NEW twitter pitch contest for writers  – – ADULT PITCH!!! *Throws Confetti*

What is Adult Pitch (or#AdPit)?

It is a brand new twitter pitch contest open for all authors of Adult or New Adult fiction and nonfiction. –Sorry but no picture books through young adult will be accepted.

If you’ve ever done #pitmad or #pitchmas and the like, then this is the same thing. In the vein of #pitchsqueak (which is for picture books), #AdPit is for adult works.

New to twitter pitches? Then you are probably asking what the heck is a pitch –
A twitter pitch constitutes one (1) 140 character tweet on twitter, plus the hashtag #AdPit.
If possible and it isn’t clear from the pitch, then add the genre.

An Example – Min must choose between her fellow humans and the vampires holding her captive even as those she loves dies. #AdPit Horror

Rules:  

■    Only pitch completed and edited manuscripts. If you aren’t ready to send out the whole manuscript right now, then you aren’t ready to pitch it.
■    Only pitch once an hour. This helps ease the congestion on the #hashtag the day of #AdPit.
■    If you are pitching more than one manuscript, stagger it out over the hour. Please don’t dump six different pitches at the top of every hour.
■    Remember to leave the favoriting to the participating agents and editors. If you like someone else’s pitch please either retweet it or @ the author directly.
■    If you receive a favorite from an agent or editor, scroll back through the feed and see what they want to have submitted, or simply follow the submission guidelines on their websites.

WHEN: October 16th, 2013 from 8:00 a.m. through 8:00 p.m. EST (New York time)

If you have questions, I’ll be checking comments.

Also, I have started a thread at CPSeek.com for help with your twitter pitches prior to the pitch day.

Thanks so much!

25 thoughts on “Twitter Pitch Party Coming Soon!

    1. I’m still working on letting agents and editors know about the contest. I have several lined up, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to post a list prior to #AdPit. Rest assured some will be there. 🙂 Good luck to you on 10/16!

  1. I’ve never done pitches before because I know in my case, it is not likely to interest any agent. It’s not because I can’t write, at least, I hope not, but because my subject matter is difficult to place and sell. Sigh! I write about people with a vocation to the religious life and an unexplainable death… That’s it? Well, there’s possible murder, sex, romance but alas, the background is always the same- the cloister. But Heidi, since you are promoting this and you are one of my bestest friends, I’m going to back you right up to the hilt and pitch!

    1. As it is an open invite pitch party, I can’t release a list of participating agents/editors. I don’t want others to feel excluded from any kind of list. Rest assured I have several lined up, and as agents and editors pop up on the thread, I’ll announce them as time permits.

  2. Just so I am clear…I have a nonfiction synopsis, introduction, chapter outline and asample chapter that I send to to agents when I query. Do nonfiction works need to be fully completed? Or is a standard query acceptable?

Leave a Reply

