Wattpad And A New Venture…

I’ve avoided it for years. I really have. The very idea – terrifying.

But a couple of days ago, I did it. I pulled up my big girl panties. Then, I did it.

I’ve started a Wattpad account.

Now, what to do with it? That’s what I kept asking myself, and then it clicked.

I’ve had a certain story on the shelf for a LONGGGG TIME…. There was always something just not quite right about it, and I couldn’t figure it out. I had alpha readers, and then beta readers read it, and they didn’t know really what it was either.

Then, the other day (in the shower of course. That is, after all, one of the best thinking of idea spots in the house preceded, I think, only by the toilet.) I figured it out. So I fixed that long put away story – Then, I didn’t know what to do with it.

Most of you know me more as a children’s writer I think, but the fact is – I also write for adults. And this story, is for the adult audience. Though it isn’t graphic, not at all so really probably young adult readers would be okay with it as well.

Secondly, I tend to lean to the far darker recesses in my writing (Yes, that’s possible even though you write for kids) or to Science Fiction and/or Fantasy. Again, this story is none of those things either. It’s a simple suspense/mystery with a bit of a romantic subplot.

So, that meant querying it was out (at least to me. I’m not ready to spread myself so thin). Then, that thing I’d been avoiding kept swimming round an’ round in my noggin. I couldn’t shake it. Then after many arguments with myself, I decided it was the perfect answer to two things. So, I did it.

I decided to serialize my adult suspense on Wattpad!

YEP! I’m officially a Wattpad author now. Only the first chapter is up so far, but I hope to get a couple of chapters up a week. I’m shooting for Tuesdays and Thursdays to be my post days.

Right now though, I’m lonely over there and so’s Deanna and her story. So, if you’re interested in reading MURDER AT SUNSET… just click the title there and it’ll take you to my Wattpad page.

Just wanted to share with you, but now – I have a YA horror to revise. This one will be queried, unless of course one of the other books I’m querying lands me an agent before I’m finished with this one… *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

